Interview

Is there anything worse than the night before a job interview? 

I know I interview well.  I rock at interviews.  I’m charming and intelligent and non-threatening, and I’ve conducted enough hiring interviews of my own over the past several years that I know most of the State Personnel Approved Behavioral Interview Questions by heart, and have instant but earnest answers for most of them waiting on the tip of my tongue.

State Government interviews are unlike anything in the real world.  It’s all about “tell us about a time when you dealt with some basic situation and make yourself sound like a hero in the telling”, and since I pretty much live in my own fantasy world, tooting my own horn is something I don’t feel bad about doing, while modestly glancing down at the table in front of me and blushing lightly.

But the night before an interview, your mind goes running around in little bitty circles and you can easily make yourself, your spouse, and your dog feel anxious and ready to throw your ass out the door for the night.  “Did I pick out the right tie?  What if I wear that tie instead?  Should I use extra hair conditioner tomorrow morning, and if I do will it make my hair extra shiny or just greasy looking?  Should I pluck any stray white eyebrows or just trim them up a little bit?  Should I take a sleeping pill to make sure I get a good nights sleep, or will that just leave me too groggy in the morning to be on my game?  Should I take my reading glasses, in case they need me to read something, or take the chance I won’t need them?  What shall I have for breakfast that will fill me up and last me through a 1:00 interview but not make me feel bloated or farty?”  And it goes on and on and on.  At some point you realize “I may be over thinking this” and at some point you’ll hopefully give it up to the Universe and trust that things will work out as they are supposed to work out, and cross your fingers and hope for the best. 

The sleeping pill is a good idea, by the way.  You need to look bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, and at my age you can’t pull that off with only 4 hours sleep anymore.      
 

 

This entry was posted in Work Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

