Take My Breath Away

So, the Boyfriend is coming home tonight. I’m picking him up at the airport so late in the day it will probably be tomorrow by the time we get luggage and find the car. I’m taking tomorrow off work, because really, do you think I’ll come home that late and go to bed and then get up at the crack of dawn to go to work? I don’t think so. And as it turned out, I had a minor home emergency that had to be tended to today, so I’m off today as well. I got my emergency taken care of, got the dogs washed, got the house cleaned, and now I’m going freaking crazy because I’m ready for him to be home but he’s still flying over the ocean somewhere.

It’s so strange to find myself like this. After 12+ years together, a little time away from each other is good. I just took a week off by myself not long ago because I need that “me time” periodically. And I haven’t been weeping and moaning and crying and tearing at my hair while he’s been gone, I’ve just missed him terribly. Which is a good thing.

I’ve never been in a relationship for this long a time span before. To find myself just as insanely in love as I was when this all started, after all these years, just takes my breath away. It’s not about need, it’s about want. That critical difference is what makes this man so important to me. We’re not lost in some sick co-dependant needy thing like so many other people; we both just want to be here, together. Forever, I think. Probably. We’ll know when we get there. But it feels good and it feels right and I am so very much looking forward to seeing his face again and holding him in my arms.

This entry was posted in My fabulous life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

