The Real World As I Know It Isn’t Necessarily Real

It seems everyone I’ve ever know who was off work for an extended period of time due to medical reasons came back whining “I was so Bored.” And now, having been there myself, I have to ask “Really? Because I haven’t been bored once, and still have lots of things I’d rather be doing than going back to work tomorrow.”

In my experience, people who are easily bored are usually boring people. With today’s technology, the entire world is available at your fingertips even if you are stranded in bed for a few weeks. And once you’re out of that bed, my gosh, don’t you have any hobbies or interests beyond watching Dance Moms or Judge Judy on the boob tube?

Granted, I’m feeling much better today than I was 6 weeks ago. I’m very much more mobile and self-sufficient. When you feel good, you’re more ready and able to do interesting things to keep yourself entertained. But entertaining myself has never really been much of a problem for me.

Today, I spend trying to get in the necessary mindset of positive expectations needed in order to face the Real World As I Know It Tomorrow. Part of that mindset is reminding myself that perception creates reality and the Real World As I Know It isn’t necessarily real, it’s just a construct of my creativity-stifled mind and a reflection of a battle I’m more than ready to stop fighting.

But I also remind myself how fulfilling the last five years has been, many times, and how much I’ve actually accomplished in that short time. I think the biggest obstruction right now is the fact I feel I’ve gone as far as I can go and done as much as I can do, and now maybe it’s time for me to move on. So I tolerate another 3 weeks, fix my other bionic leg so I’ll have a matching pair, and then begin running into the future and whatever new adventures it may hold.

This entry was posted in Lost In Kentucky, My fabulous life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

