What To Read While Waiting For Gay Marriage (part 3)

So, I’ve moved on to David Sedaris, and will probably finish “Naked” tonight.  Which causes a quandary; what next?  The Gay Marriage ruling will most likely come down from the supreme court Next Freaking Week, and one feels that if one is going to commit to reading only gay novelists until I’m finally allowed to get legally married in this country, then the one I’m reading at the time the decision comes down has particular significance.

Augusten Burroughs I love, but he’s just a little too needy for me to be reading while considering marriage.  His stories are more of that best friend who is funny and talented but you’re not really attracted to each other but you still like to hit the bars together every once in a while.

Clive Barker is one of my all-time favorites, and he’s got that bad-boy S&M fantasy horror thing going too, but he may be a little bit too dark for this particular historical event.

Dan Savage’s “The Commitment” is the whole story of “yes” and “why” and “now”, but his story is not my story and I need a story to hug me tight as it takes me away.

Tom Robbins is exactly the man to hug me tight as he takes me away, except he’s not gay, but seriously, he’s an honorary gay man simply because he’s a slave to his dick and he honors the sacredness of good hard sweaty sex and he writes some of the most beautiful and playful words ever.

The Gregory Maguire “Wicked” series is pretty amazing, but his fairy-tales for grown-ups are all sort of amazingly beautifully written downers, and I prefer “Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister” anyway, but that’s even more down, and it’s all girls.

Looking back, I think maybe I need to reconsider Clive.  I love all his stuff, but some of his early works were entirely and completely brilliant.  “Weave World” and “Imagica” and “The Great And Secret Show” all took my breath completely away the first time I read them, and I’ve read each of them at least a dozen times since.  They aren’t Gay Novels, so to say, but they were written by a Gay Author obviously under the Gay Muse using quite a bit of Gay Magic, and however he did it, Clive Barker opened new doors in fantasy science fiction horror that nobody had even imagined yet.  The Talent, and the Storytelling, and the Imagination is what hooked me on Clive Barker before I even knew he was gay.

And maybe that’s what all this is about.  It’s sort of the point.  Gay shouldn’t matter, or receive second-status citizenship, or even be a consideration in most things.  Gay is important to me, just as Black is important to most African-Amercans, but none of us should be treated as a lesser human because of who we are.  It is just who we are.  What we create, what we contribute, who we become, those are important things.  I love reading Tom Robbins just as much as I love reading Clive Barker, and who they sleep with has absolutely nothing to do with it.

And my wedding ring is nicer than yours because I didn’t buy it at fucking K-Mart, you redneck shitheads making a fuss about gays getting married as if it affects you in any way shape or form.

This entry was posted in Art and Stuff, Lost In Kentucky, My fabulous life, My famous friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

